Skin Care Essentials!

Image

 

Hey all! In the midst of me somewhat re-vamping my blog I thought I’d post about my skincare routine. I will predominantly post about makeup, but great looking makeup starts with great looking skin. It’s so important to take care of your skin! That’s why I totally don’t mind spending some money on skin care products. Okay, let’s get started.

So the most important thing in my skincare routine is cleansing my face. My all time favorite cleanser for the past 6 months or so has been the Mario Badescu Glycolic Foaming Cleanser, it really deep cleans and gets everything out of your pores, resulting in clearer skin. The glycolic acid exfoliates and makes your face feel very soft also. With this, I use my Clarisonic Mia 2, which has made the biggest difference in the tone and texture of my skin. It has also cleared my skin up, which is a miracle because I almost always have chin breakouts, and now I feel pretty comfortable not wearing foundation and concealer. I highly, highly recommend that you invest in one of these bad boys, it’s so worth it. I know it doesn’t seem worth the money, but trust me. I didn’t think it would do much for my skin, either. Just do it! 

Next, I use a toner, which gets any excess oil or dirt out of the pores. I use the Mario Badescu Cucumber Cleansing Lotion by recommendation of Jaclyn Hill on YouTube about a year ago. It is the best toner I have ever used, and I’ve tried so many! It really does its job without drying my skin. It just makes my feel skin that much cleaner after washing my face. Whether you’re dry, oily, combination, this stuff is great. I also use the LUSH Eau Roma Toner Water for days that my skin is really red, dry, and just feeling sensitive. It has rose and lavender to help soothe irritated and red skin. Great stuff! 

After toning, it’s important to put that moisture back into your face or else your skin will typically feel very tight and it could end up becoming too dry. I do two different things for moisturizing my face. One, I use a face oil. Face oils are SO great for dry skin(oily skin, too). I use the Fresh Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil. Let me tell you, I was terrified to use an oil on my face, even though I’m quite dry. Now I will never use anything else! This stuff is seriously like magic in a bottle. It makes my skin so soft, and when I wake up the next morning my skin is glowing. Another product I use for moisturizing is the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream, which is not only for your face, but your whole body. It’s got all natural ingredients in it, and it’s great for sensitive skin. It really moisturizes well and soothes because it has colloidal oatmeal in it. I recommend this to everyone.

Because the eye area is so sensitive, it’s important to invest in a good eye cream. Of course, there are some good ones that are affordable as well. But for me, rarely do eye creams from the drugstore actually work for me. I use Bliss Fabulous Every Day Eye Cream, which is just that: an everyday eye cream. It’s lightweight, ultra moisturizing, and non-irritating. I highly recommend this to everyone who doesn’t know what to get. 

A few times a week, exfoliation is a must. It’s important to slough off the dead skin cells so that your skin can regenerate more cells and keep your skin looking fresh and not dull. Now if you use a Clarisonic, that does exfoliate your skin, but I like to use a facial scrub as well, just 2-3 days a week. I use the Korres Pomegranate Deep Cleansing Scrub which is quite a coarse scrub, but yet gentle at the same time. Of course, you need to be careful with this scrub if you do use it or decide to purchase it. You want to gently rub this in circular motions all over the face(avoiding the eye area) so that your skin doesn’t become irritated. If you scrub too hard, it can be way too abrasive on your face and cause redness and even breakouts. 

Cleansing oils are extremely popular in the beauty world as of recently. And I have hopped on that bandwagon! I’m so glad I did. A lady at Sephora told me about the Boscia MakeUp-BreakUp Cool Cleansing Oil, and she strongly recommended that I try it. I caved and paid $28 for this guy, but I’m so glad I bought him! If you’re not familiar with what a cleansing oil is, it’s basically an oily makeup remover that you rub all over your face before going in with a normal cleanser. For example, at night I squirt one pump of this into my hands, rub it in my palms, and massage it into my face to remove makeup, then I hop in the shower, rinse my face,and cleanse with my MB cleanser and my Clarisonic. It’s great stuff because it really does remove everything so well. 

You also need to get yourself a couple of great face masks. I like to do two different masks during the week. I use a clarifying mask, and a moisturizing mask. The Origins Clear Improvement mask is the best clarifying mask I’ve ever used. I think its better than the Glam Glow clearing treatment mask… Yes I said it! It really pulls everything out of your pores and brings it to the surface. I do this mask probably about 1-3 times a week, depending on how my skin is acting. For the moisturizing mask, I use the Glam Glow ThirstyMud Hydrating Treatment, I know I just bashed their clarifying mask, but this mask is completely different, and I LOVE it. I put this on at night and sleep in it, and holy moly my skin is glowing… like literally glowing. I don’t even know what’s in this stuff but it makes it worth the $69 (ouch, I know). That being said, I use the littlest amount possible every time I use this, so it will last a long time. But a little bit really does go a long way. Even though it hurts the wallet to purchase this, keep in mind that it does last for a while. I’ve had mine since the beginning of February and there’s barely even a dent in mine. 

Okay, so that wraps up the skincare post! I hope you all enjoyed. Leave a comment down below and let me know what your skincare favorites are!

*Insta: @kenziekatherine91

*Twitter:@headedred21

* I was not sponsored or paid to make this post

 

 

Leave a comment